Based on a fun-looking build @sasska mentioned:
"For each squadron you would activate," Rapid Launch Bays allows you to deploy a set-aside squadron "instead."
Invisible Hand does not include "instead."
1. Can Invisible Hand as written deploy X squadrons and command X squadrons without choosing the same squads? (Which could allow for some fun Hyperwave Signal Boost shenanigans.)
2. Can Invisible Hand and Rapid Launch Bays be used together to deploy as many as 9 squads in one activation, attacking with only 5 of them? (I ask this because RLB allows deployments "instead" of activations.)
Rapid Launch Bays received an errata where "instead" was removed due to confusion. It currently should read the same as 'Invisible Hand.' I think this means you can mix placements as well, like deploying 2 Vultures via 'Invisible Hand' and 2 Hyenas via Rapid Launch Bays. Not sure about this though.
HOWEVER...
As I understand, "placing" a squadron is not an activation, and you can use the activations from your actual Squadron command on whatever squadrons you like. So yes, you could place squadrons, not activate the placed squadrons, and then use them with Hyperwave Signal Boost later, taking advantage of the AI boost from 'Invisible Hand' (with the caveat that they're still bound by the deploying card's text, e.g. you can't move placed squadrons in the Squadron Phase).
1. Can Invisible Hand as written deploy X squadrons and command X squadrons without choosing the same squads? (Which could allow for some fun Hyperwave Signal Boost shenanigans.)
Yes, you can place them and then activate other squadrons, but if you do this, those placed squadrons won't gain the AI+1 from the title when you activate them later.
For refference we have the RLB FAQ: "Placing a set-aside squadron does not count as an activation."
2. Can Invisible Hand and Rapid Launch Bays be used together to deploy as many as 9 squads in one activation, attacking with only 5 of them? (I ask this because RLB allows deployments "instead" of activations.)
Yes, you can resolve both cards and activate up to your squadron value. As mentioned by Pakinlead, RLB has an errata where the "instead" was removed to avoid confusion.
Thanks, both of you!
Neither card specify that the squads set aside by that card must be deployed by that's card rules... Can I set aside bombers with RLB and then deploy them with Invisible Hand???
Correct, with that combination you can deploy Hyenas with Invisible Hand, increasing their AI: battery by 1, making them attack ships with 3 dice :)
Supposedly AMG said somewhere that you must deploy set aside ships and squads with the rules of the card that allowed you to set them aside. I don't know where and the people that are telling me this can't remember the source. I believe it but we need a FAQ update.
I don't think we need an FAQ, as it's already in the rules.
In the RRG under "Set Aside Ships and Squadrons":
"A ship or squadron that is set aside can only be deployed or affected
by the effect that set them aside."
I stand corrected. It's been so long since the last game I could play that I keep forgetting some rules little by little :(
A post so nice I made it twice.
Ok thanks. That's what I was looking for. I didn't realize it was already addressed.
On a side note there are other things that need a little bit of official work on interactions so I think an FAQ will be needed by the end of the year.
@Rune Taq I have also heard that AMG is coming out with a rules forum for Armada like the one they have for Legion. Sounds like July is the target.
I would expect as much.
The forums opened today. The answer to number 2 is a definite no. You can deploy up to your squadron value from either card or a mixture of the two, but only 4 total.