Had this come up in a game last week but does a salvo attack trigger officer palps ability? Ex. Officer palps ship shoots at aclamator, aclamator decides to spend salvo and shoot back does aclamator now have to spend another defense token because of officer palps?
top of page
Star Wars: Armada
bottom of page
Its like, if only there was some kind of document that would have this exact interaction listed... if only somebody had taken the time to list out every single interaction in the game... *points to https://www.swarmada.net/forum/rules-questions/karnecks-armada-reference-manual-star-wars-armada-explained-swae * Yes, Officer Palpatine resolves on any and ALL attacks. This includes Salvo. Salvo is an attack. Just like how Counter is an attack.
@Mad Cat Red brace by the time Palpatine triggers.
Even though the salvo token gets spent in the spend defense tokens step, actual salvo attacks happen after the "resolve damage" step when crits go off.
Palps triggers in the attack sequence for salvo (if at all.)
It's definitely a more complicated scenario to envision, but the result is clearer given what we know about the attack sequence.
I agree the Acclamator would have to spend another defense token.
Lets complicate things a bit....
ISD-II with Palps officer and Overload Pulse shoots an Acclamator and gets the blue crit for OL Pulse. An accuracy hits the brace (no ECM). All three green defense tokens will be turned red so the Acclamator redirects some and Salvoes back. Now with Palp on the ISD the Acclamator has to spend a def token.
So can the Acclamator spend the green brace or has the brace turned red by the OL Pulse before this stage?
I am convinced. I've been playing it wrong. :(
There is not an RRG entry directly addressing this interaction. However, Bertie has listed the relevant entries we have; I agree with his conclusion.
Declaring a target is part of the attack sequence. When you perform an attack, even if you are only allowed a specific choice for the target, you go through the attack sequence.
I see nothing that allows one to omit this part of the base rules for salvo, just a rule that makes it redundant.
The RRG has an entry for Salvo, but it does not mention whether it is different from the standard attack.
RRG, p. 2:
To perform an attack with a squadron or ship, resolve the following steps: 1. Declare Target: The attacker declares the defender and the attacking hull zone, if any. If the defender is a ship, the attacker declares the defending hull zone. Measure line of sight to the defender to ensure the attack is possible and to determine if it is obstructed. ◊If the attacker is a ship, the defending squadron or hull zone must be inside the attacking hull zone’s firing arc and at attack range of the attacking hull zone. ◊If the attacker is a squadron, the defending squadron or hull zone must be at distance 1.
RRG, p. 5:
Salvo: If the defender is a ship, it performs a salvo attack after the “Resolve Damage” step of this attack. If the attacker was a ship, the defender performs a salvo attack against the attacking hull zone using the defender’s printed rear battery armament. If the attacker was a squadron, the defender performs a salvo attack against the attacker using its printed anti-squadron armament. ◊The effect of the salvo defense token cannot be resolved during a counter, salvo, or ignition attack. ◊During a salvo attack, the attack range and line-of-sight are treated as the same as those of the original attack, and firing arcs are ignored. ◊Dice cannot be added to a salvo attack. (Other dice modifications still apply.) ◊During a salvo attack, only the standard critical effect can be resolved. ◊If the ship that spent the salvo defense token is destroyed before performing a salvo attack, it performs the salvo attack before it is removed.
The salvo rules are a little different from a standard attack, but nothing that I can see suggests you should skip the "declare target" step of the attack sequence. It's still a necessary step for salvo; for one thing that's when you check to see if the attack is obstructed.
Seeing as I'm getting conflicting answers does anyone know of an entry in the RRG about this?
I have a different opinion; the Acclamator must spend another defense token. Quoting from the KARM:
Emperor Palpatine (Officer)
"When an enemy ship or unique squadron declares you as the target of an attack, it must spend 1 of its defense tokens (if able)."
The spending of the defense token happens when you reach step 1 of the Salvo attack (which, again, takes place after the current attack is concluded. (Not when the Salvo defense token is spent in the spend defense token step.)
I don't think so. Palps triggers when the ship declares a target for an attack. Salvo follows a different procedure, I believe, as it is not a standard attack and there is only 1 possible target, mandated by the token.